Charles River Prize in Laboratory Animal Science and Medicine

The Charles River Prize is awarded to a veterinarian in recognition of his/her outstanding contributions to laboratory animal science and medicine.


Since 1978, Charles River has proudly sponsored the Charles River Prize in the United States. Beginning in 2013, we expanded the reach of the Charles River Prize to include our international colleagues through AALAS.

Nominee Eligibility

Nominee should be a veterinarian who has had significant, consistent contributions to laboratory animal science and medicine. Nominee must be either a member of AALAS or an AALAS-recognized affiliate organization (AALAS Global Partner Affiliates list). Nominee may be a resident of any country. The Charles River Prize Nomination Form must be completed for each nominee.

The completed nomination packet must be received no later than April 1. Please send the nomination packet via email to [email protected].

Each nomination should be accompanied by the following supporting information:

  1. Name, mailing address, college, and year of graduation
  2. Nature of professional activity (type of salaried work)
  3. Organization membership (professional and scientific)
  4. Honors or awards
  5. Bibliography
  6. Brief biosketch on nominee’s professional background
  7. Statement pertaining to his/her qualifications for the award
  8. Three letters of support for the nomination


  • Publications and presentations in the field of laboratory animal science, medicine, welfare or ethics
  • Teaching and training activities that foster the highest standards of animal care and use
  • Public outreach supporting biomedical research
  • Involvement in public policy enhancing biomedical research
  • Involvement in development of recognized guidelines, standards and other activities enhancing the use of animals in biomedical research
  • Contributions to the implementation of the 3Rs in biomedical research
  • Other attributes not covered above that should be considered, including grants to enhance animal care and use programs or involvement in professional organizations (particularly leadership roles)

Award Details

Plaque and a $2,500 honorarium.

Past Winners

  • 2010s

    2020    Dr. Ekaterina Rivera
    2019    Dr. James Swearengen
    2018    Dr. Kap Lee
    2017    Dr. Christian Abee
    2016    Dr. Timo Nevalainen
    2015    Dr. Christian Newcomer
    2014    Dr. Steven M. Niemi
    2013    Dr. Anne-Dominique Degryse
    2012    Dr. Kathryn Bayne
    2011    Dr. Steven L. Leary
    2010    Dr. Mel Balk

  • 2000s

    2009    Dr. John Miller
    2008    Dr. Stephen Barthold
    2007    Dr. Susan Stein Cook
    2006    Dr. William S. Stokes
    2005    Dr. Michael Kastello
    2004    Dr. Steele F. Mattingly
    2003    Dr. Hilton Klein
    2002    Dr. Margaret Susan Landi
    2001    Dr. Robert O. Jacoby
    2000    Dr. Daniel Ringler

  • 1990s

    1999    Dr. Dale G. Martin
    1998    Dr. B. Taylor Bennett
    1997    Dr. Lynn C. Anderson
    1996    Dr. Harry Rozmiarek
    1995    Dr. Fred Quimby
    1994    Dr. Albert E. "Gene" New
    1993    Dr. Howard C. Hughes, Jr.
    1992    Dr. Nathan R. Brewer
    1991    Dr. Steven P. Pakes
    1990    Dr. James G. Fox

  • 1980s

    1989    Dr. Robert A. Whitney
    1988    Dr. Franklin M. Loew
    1987    Dr. C Max Lang
    1986    Dr. Joseph E. Wagner
    1985    Dr. Henry J. Baker
    1984    Dr. Joseph R. Held
    1983    Dr. Ronald D. Hunt
    1982    Dr. Edward Melby, Jr.
    1981    Dr. Lisbeth Kraft
    1980    Dr. Bennett Cohen

  • 1970s

    1979    Dr. Russell Lindsey
    1978    Dr. Thomas B. Clarkson