螺原体和支原体检测分析

必须证明用于生物制品 生产的细胞基质不含外源因子,包括支原体。支原体污染检测必须在产品开发的各个阶段进行,包括原材料、细胞库、病毒种子库、未加工的收获液材料和最终产品。还建议对与植物或昆虫材料接触的生物制药产品进行螺原体检测。

合规支原体检测方法

支原体检测属于监管要求,支原体检测方法在全球范围内的一些药典、法规和指导文件中均有说明。传统的培养方法和指示细胞培养方法并非完全一致,可能会因不同司法管辖区而有所不同。

我们提供 所有相关药典检测方法,并执行 符合《美国药典 (USP) 通则》<63>、《欧洲药典 (EP) 通则》2.6.7 和《日本药典 (JP)》以及组合协议的支原体检测。

我们也提供螺原体检测。检测方法包括使用对照菌株,其中包括肺炎支原体、口腔支原体、鸡毒支原体、猪鼻支原体、滑膜支原体、莱拉维支原体和柑橘链球菌。

我们还提供使用大容量方法和定量 PCR 检测的支原体检测,以便快速得到结果。还可以进行支原体清除研究,以证明下游工艺灭活或去除支原体污染物的能力。

支原体检测试验方法

  • 培养方法

    科学家使用显微镜进行支原体检测

    • 检测样本直接接种到琼脂平板以及液体培养基中。 
    • 所选择的琼脂和液体培养基具有令人满意的营养特性,可支持多种支原体的生长。 
    • 每个支原体检测分析中都包含阴性和阳性对照,以检查系统适用性。
    • 在培养期间,液体培养物在多个时间点被传代培养到琼脂平板上,以观察支原体的生长。 
    • 在培养期结束时,用显微镜检查琼脂平板上是否存在支原体菌落。 
    • 总检测时间为 28 天。
  • 指示细胞培养法

    用于进行支原体检测的显微镜

    有些挑剔的支原体菌株被称为“不可培养”,因为它们不能在用于培养方法的标准培养基中生长。Vero 或 NIH3T3 细胞的培养物用于培养支原体。一周的潜伏期后,将细胞固定,用 DNA 结合荧光染料染色,并在显微镜下进行评估。 

    在支原体感染的情况下,当污染严重时,细胞表面和周围区域会出现明亮荧光的特征模式。

  • qPCR 方法

    准备进行螺原体检测的样本

    我们使用以下 qPCR 方法进行支原体检测:

    • 特异性核酸扩增及荧光探针技术:这种支原体检测分析检测特定核酸序列的存在,但不一定表明存在活支原体。
    • 肉汤培养物生长富集和 RT-PCR:这种测定包括核酸检测前的生长富集步骤,以从非活菌和残留环境源中区分活菌。样本在第 0 天和第 7 天进行检测。
    • 细胞与 RT-PCR 共培养的生长富集:这种支原体检测方法包括核酸检测前的生长富集步骤,以区分活生物体和非活生物体以及残留的环境来源。样本在第 0 天和第 5 天从细胞共培养中进行检测。
    • 螺原体检测:这种测定包括核酸检测前的生长富集步骤,以从非活菌和残留环境源中区分活菌。样本在第 0 天和第 7 天进行检测。

尽管 PCR 检测更常用于支原体检测,但监管机构并未普遍批准基于 PCR 的支原体检测。可以使用 PCR 作为过程控制和产品特定验证的补充方法;但是,需要对传统方法进行可比性研究,以证明这些方法是等效的。 

我们的专家可以帮助制定针对您产品的支原体检测策略。

咨询专家

关于支原体检测的常见问题 (FAQ)

Spiroplasma and Mycoplasma Detection Assays

Cell substrates used in the manufacture of biologics must be shown to be free of adventitious agents, including mycoplasma. Testing for mycoplasma contamination must be performed at various phases of product development, including raw materials, cell banks, viral seed stocks, unprocessed bulk harvest materials, and final products. Spiroplasma testing is also suggested for biopharmaceutical products that have been in contact with plant or insect materials.

Regulatory-Compliant Mycoplasma Testing Methods

Mycoplasma testing is a regulatory requirement and mycoplasma test methods are described in several compendia, regulations, and guidance documents worldwide. The traditional culture method and the indicator cell culture method are not fully harmonized and may vary between different jurisdictions.

We offer all relevant compendial test methods and perform mycoplasma testing compliant with the United States Pharmacopoeia (USP) General Chapter <63>, the European Pharmacopoeia (EP) General Chapter 2.6.7, and the Japanese Pharmacopoeia (JP), along with combination protocols.

Spiroplasma testing is also available. The test methods incorporate the use of control strains including M. pneumoniae, M. orale, M. gallisepticum, M. hyorhinis, M. synoviae, A. laidlawii, and S. citri.

We additionally offer mycoplasma testing using the large volume method and quantitative PCR assays for rapid receipt of results. Mycoplasma clearance studies can also be performed to demonstrate the capacity of the downstream process to inactivate or remove mycoplasma contaminants.

Mycoplasma Detection Test Methods

  • Culture Method

    Scientist using a microscope to perform mycoplasma testing

    • Test samples are inoculated directly onto agar plates as well as into liquid medium. 
    • Agar and liquid media chosen are shown to have satisfactory nutritive properties to support the growth of a broad range of mycoplasma species. 
    • Negative and positive controls are included in each mycoplasma detection assay to check the system suitability.
    • During the incubation period the liquid cultures are subcultured at multiple time points onto agar plates to visualize mycoplasma growth. 
    • At the end of the incubation period, the agar plates are examined microscopically for the presence of mycoplasma colonies. 
    • Total test time is 28 days.
  • Indicator Cell Culture Method

    Microscope used to perform mycoplasma testing

    There are fastidious mycoplasma strains which are called “non-cultivable” because they do not grow in the standard media used for the culture method. Cultures of Vero or NIH3T3 cells are used to grow mycoplasmas. After an incubation period of one week, the cells are fixed and stained with a DNA-binding fluorescent dye and evaluated microscopically. 

    In the case of a mycoplasma infection there is a characteristic pattern of bright fluorescence on the surfaces of the cells and in surrounding areas when the contamination is heavy.

  • qPCR Methods

    samples ready for spiroplasma testing

    We use the following qPCR methods for mycoplasma detection:

    • Amplification of specific nucleic acids and fluorescent probe technology: This mycoplasma detection assay detects the presence of a particular nucleic acid sequence but does not necessarily indicate the presence of viable mycoplasma.
    • Broth culture growth enrichment and RT-PCR: This assay includes a growth-enrichment step prior to the nucleic acid test in order to delineate viable organisms from non-viable organisms and residual environmental sources. Samples are tested at day 0 and day 7.
    • Growth enrichment by cell co-cultivation with RT-PCR: This mycoplasma detection assay includes a growth-enrichment step prior to the nucleic acid test to distinguish viable organisms from non-viable organisms and residual environmental sources. Samples are tested from a cell co-cultivation at day 0 and day 5.
    • Spiroplasma testing: This assay includes a growth-enrichment step prior to the nucleic acid test to delineate viable organisms from non-viable organisms and residual environmental sources. Samples are tested at day 0 and day 7.

Even though PCR testing is used more often for the detection of mycoplasmas, there is no general approval for PCR-based mycoplasma testing by the regulating agencies. It is possible to use PCR as a complementary method for in-process controls and product-specific validation; however, a comparability study is required against the traditional method to demonstrate the methods are equivalent. 

Our experts can help develop a mycoplasma testing strategy specific to your product.

Consult An Expert

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Mycoplasma Testing