检测服务

热原检测服务

30 多年来,我们一直在快速、准确地进行体内热原检测,提供快速的样本周转和技术专长。我们使用自己的无特定病原体 (SPF) 兔子,在符合良好生产规范 (GMP) 的专用设施中执行客户质量控制计划的这一关键步骤。检测项目包括蛋白质材料、非蛋白质材料和血液制品。临床试验药品 (IMP) 和授权药品都可以进行热原性检测。

在检测非内毒素热原和 LAL 受限的各种产品时,兔热原检测 (RPT) 仍然是一种可行的哺乳动物检测模型。监管机构也可能要求进行一次性热原检测,以支持内毒素检测的常规使用。所有体内兔热原检测均根据 USP、欧洲和/或日本药典进行。

内毒素检测

我们还提供体外细菌内毒素检测。检测符合所有药典要求,包括凝胶凝块(定性)、浊度动力学和显色(定量)方法。我们还为客户提供产品的初步筛选和验证以及备份技术服务。

单核细胞活化检测 (MAT)

为了体现我们对 3R 的承诺,我们不断寻求新的方法和技术,为客户提供可行的体外替代体内检测。作为这一承诺的一部分,我们根据 EP 2.6.30 提供单核细胞活化检测 (MAT)。MAT 基于人体对引起发烧的热原的反应,可用作兔热原检测的替代方法。该方法可用于检测范围广泛的热原,包括革兰氏阳性和革兰氏阴性生物、寄生虫、病毒和其他生物热原(例如酵母)。

它还为在其他体外内毒素检测中被证明有问题的产品提供检测解决方案,例如影响体温调节的药物(如解热药和类固醇)、引起免疫反应的药物(如免疫球蛋白)、清洁剂、一些血液衍生产品(例如干细胞),以及其他比浊、颜色深或干扰凝血的产品。

需要时,我们的科研人员可以与客户合作开发其他 MAT 方法以满足检测目标。

热原检测应用适用性

  兔热原检测 内毒素 (LAL) MAT
  检测原理
发热反应的哺乳动物 防御机制
节肢动物
发热反应的人类
可检测热原 革兰氏阴性 + + +
革兰氏阳性 + +
真菌 + +
病毒 +/– 1 +
应用 制药 + + +
生物制品 + +/– 2 +
血液成分 +
细胞产品 +/–  +
空气污染物 +3 +/– 3 +
医疗器械 +3 +/– 3 +
1 可变热原反应
2 经常需要的兔子检测
3 只能通过用无热原水或盐水提取装置或过滤器进行间接检测

关于热原性测试的常见问题 (FAQ)

  • 有哪些不同类型的热原检测?

    目前,法规鼓励提议方使用体外方法(例如 MAT 或 LAL)来评估此类分子的存在。但是,对于某些产品,仍然需要继续使用体内方法进行热原性检测(例如兔热原检测)。我们有多种热原检测可供选择,包括 MAT、LAL 和兔热原测试,所有检测均按照GMP 指导方针进行

  • 什么是热原?

    热原通常来自微生物(内毒素或脂多糖[LPS]),是引起发热的物质,如果全身大量存在,可导致人体出现严重的炎症、休克、多器官衰竭,有时甚至死亡。此外,热原可分为内毒素和“NEP”(非内毒素热原)两类。根据药物中存在的热原分子的浓度,人体可能会出现从发烧到感染性休克的症状。热原性检测对于确定产品中是否存在热原很重要。

  • 医疗器械的内毒素限量是多少?

    与脑脊液接触的器械的内毒素限值为 20 EU/mL 或 2.15 EU/mL。

Testing Services

Pyrogen Testing Services

We have conducted in vivo pyrogen testing with speed and accuracy for over 30 years, offering rapid sample turnaround and technical expertise. We perform this critical component of our clients’ quality control program in our dedicated Good Manufacturing Practice (GMP)-compliant facilities using our own specific-pathogen-free (SPF) rabbits. Test items include protein-based material, non-protein material, and blood products. Tests for pyrogenicity can be performed for both Investigational Medicinal Products (IMP) and authorized drug products.

The rabbit pyrogen test (RPT) remains a viable mammalian test model when testing for non-endotoxin pyrogens and a variety of products for which LAL is limited. One-time pyrogen testing may also be required by regulatory authorities to support routine use of endotoxin tests. All in vivo rabbit pyrogen tests are performed according to USP, European, and/or Japanese Pharmacopeia.

Endotoxin Testing

We also offer in vitro bacterial endotoxin testing. Assays are performed to meet all pharmacopoeia requirements, including gel-clot (qualitative) and turbidimetric kinetic and chromogenic (quantitative) methods. We also provide preliminary screening and validation of products as well as a backup technical service to clients.

Monocyte Activation Testing (MAT)

Reflecting our commitment to the 3Rs, we’re continuously seeking new methods and technologies to provide clients with viable in vitro alternatives to in vivo tests. As part of this commitment, we offer the Monocyte Activation Test (MAT) according to EP 2.6.30. The MAT is based on the human reaction to pyrogens that cause a fever and may be used as an alternative to the rabbit pyrogen test. This method can be used to detect a wide range of pyrogens, including Gram-positive and Gram-negative organisms, parasitic, viral, and other biological pyrogens (e.g., yeast).

It also offers a solution for testing products that prove to be problematic in other in vitro endotoxin tests, such as drugs that affect body temperature regulation (e.g., antipyretic drugs and steroids), drugs that cause immunological reactions (e.g., immunoglobulins), detergents, some blood-derived products (e.g., stem cells), and other products that are turbidimetric, strongly colored, or interfere with clotting.

When required, our scientific staff can work with clients to develop other approaches to the MAT to satisfy testing objectives.

Pyrogen Detection Application Suitability

  Rabbit Pyrogen Test Endotoxin (LAL) MAT
  Principle of Test
Fever Reaction Mammal Defense Mechanism
Arthropoda
Fever Reaction Human
Detectable Pyrogens Gram-negative + + +
Gram-positive + +
Fungi + +
Virus +/– 1 +
Applications Pharmaceuticals + + +
Biologics + +/– 2 +
Blood components +
Cellular products +/–  +
Air pollutants +3 +/– 3 +
Medical devices +3 +/– 3 +
1 Variable pyrogenic responses
2 Rabbit testing often required
3 Can only be tested indirectly by extracting device or filter with pyrogen-free water or saline

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Pyrogenicity Testing

  • What are the different types of pyrogen tests?

    Currently, the regulations encourage sponsors to use in vitro methods (e.g., MAT or LAL) to evaluate the presence of such molecules. However, for some products, there is still a need to continue using in vivo methods for pyrogenicity (e.g., rabbit pyrogen test). We have several options available for pyrogen testing, including MAT, LAL, and rabbit pyrogen tests – all done in accordance with GMP guidelines.

  • What are pyrogens?

    Pyrogens are fever-inducing substances usually derived from microorganisms (endotoxins or lipopolysaccharide [LPS]) and, when present systemically in sufficient quantities, can lead to severe signs of inflammation, shock, multi-organ failure, and sometimes even death in humans. Furthermore, pyrogens can be classified into these two groups – endotoxin and “NEP” (non-endotoxin pyrogen). The human body can suffer symptoms ranging from fever to septic shock depending on the concentration of the pyrogen molecules present in the drug. Pyrogenicity testing is important for determining if pyrogens are present in your product.

  • What are the endotoxin limits for medical devices?

    Endotoxin limits are 20 EU/mL or 2.15 EU/mL for devices in contact with cerebrospinal fluid.