蛋白质高阶结构检定方法

在开发生物制品,具体而言是治疗性蛋白产品时,不必要的免疫反应不仅对患者有害,而且还会抑制产品的功效。保持正确的高阶结构 (HOS) 对于确保生物制药产品的适当功能、活性和稳定性至关重要。完善的 HOS 检定方法方案是完整产品检定程序的重要组成部分。我们所有的生物物理检定分析均经过认证和验证,可用于您产品的常规批放行或稳定性研究。

  • 分析超速离心 (AUC)

    分析超速离心 (AUC) 可直接在溶液中分离蛋白质种类,无需使用固定相,例如尺寸排阻色谱 (SEC)。分子的沉降速率由离心力引起,并通过紫外吸光度、荧光或干涉测量法连续监测,以产生检测样本中存在的物质的尺寸分布图。沉降速度分析超速离心 (SV-AUC) 生成沉降系数值并报告单体、多聚物和聚合物种类的相对百分比。还可获得有关分子量 (MW) 和流体力学形状的信息。

  • 差示扫描量热法 (DSC)

    差示扫描量热法 (DSC) 通过以恒定速率加热分子进行,并记录与热变性相关的热容量的可检测变化。单个 DSC 实验可以确定转变中点 Tm 以及与展开相关的焓 (ΔH) 和热容变化 (ΔCp)。DSC 是一种非常有用的生物物理检定技术,用于比较同一产品的批次,以确保批次间的一致性、制造变化时产品的可比性,并建立生物相似性。

  • 圆二色性 (CD)

    圆二色性 (CD) 测量由结构不对称引起的圆偏振光吸收的差异。远紫外扫描 (195-250 nm) 取决于肽键排列/定位。对远紫外线中的椭圆度数据进行去卷积以估计二级结构,例如 α-螺旋、β-折叠或无规卷曲。近紫外扫描 (250-350 nm) 测量芳香族残基和二硫键发色团的吸光度。该光谱范围内的 CD 信号提供蛋白质整体三级结构的指纹。

  • 动态光散射 (DLS)

    动态光散射 (DLS) 提供有关分散或溶解在液体中的粒子乳液和分子的流体动力学尺寸和尺寸分布的信息。种群大小信息用分布曲线表示。动态光散射可以测量蛋白质的扩散系数、流体动力学大小和分子量估计。

  • 固有色氨酸荧光 (ITF)

    固有色氨酸荧光 (ITF) 评估蛋白质的构象状态。折叠蛋白的固有荧光主要是由于色氨酸残基发射,还有一小部分来自酪氨酸和苯丙氨酸残基。色氨酸的最大吸收波长为 280 nm,其发射峰为溶色,根据当地环境的极性从 300 到 350 nm 不等。因此,ITF 被用作蛋白质结构检定的诊断方法。

  • 荧光偏振各向异性 (FPA)

    荧光偏振各向异性 (FPA) 通过相对较小的荧光发射配体与较大的受体分子的相互作用来确定结合常数。这种生物物理检定技术基于使用偏振光来激发荧光分子,荧光分子又会发出偏振光。然而,发射光的偏振度和各向异性直接取决于荧光分子的旋转扩散。因此,各向异性的测量可用于在改变配体相对于其受体的浓度时生成结合曲线。然后可以从各自的结合曲线计算亲和力常数。

  • 表面等离子体共振 (SPR)

    表面等离子体共振 (SPR) 蛋白质结合研究通常使用 biacore 仪器并采用各种配置和形式,包括蛋白质:蛋白质和蛋白质:药物结合研究。可以开发用于先导选择的排序筛选方法以及优化运行条件以确定 IND/CMC 程序的 Kon、Koff 和 KD 值,作为产品生物物理检定的一部分。

  • 非极性荧光染料 8-Anilinonaphthalene-1-Sulfonic Acid (ANS) 方法

    非极性荧光染料 8-Anilinonaphthalene-1-磺酸 (ANS) 方法评估蛋白质在其天然状态下的表面疏水性。此方法是一种相对快速、无损且简单的定量评估蛋白质非极性或疏水性的方法。蛋白质表面疏水位点的数量和相对大小可能受 pH、温度和离子强度条件的影响。随着分子展开,更多的疏水区域暴露出来。因此,该方法对蛋白质的构象状态非常敏感。

  • 多角度激光散射的尺寸排阻色谱 (SEC-MALLS)

    具有多角度激光散射 (SEC-MALLS) 检测的尺寸排阻色谱法用于根据尺寸分离蛋白质并确定分离蛋白质的摩尔质量。大型物种 (>200 kDa) 的角度依赖性也可用于估计大小和形状因素,例如蛋白质回转半径。

  • 傅里叶变换红外 (FT-IR) 光谱

    傅里叶变换红外 (FT-IR) 光谱是一种成熟的实验技术,用于分析多肽和蛋白质的二级结构。通过 FT-IR 分析多肽和蛋白质会产生一系列特征性的 IR 吸收带。酰胺 I 和 II 带是蛋白质骨架的两个最重要的振动带。此外,两个酰胺带中更敏感的是酰胺 I 带(1700-1600 cm-1),它对应于肽键的 C=O 拉伸振动。酰胺 I 带成分的频率与蛋白质的二级结构特征密切相关。

生物数字化渲染

用于 AAV 基因递送载体检定的分析超速离心

观看此网络研讨会,探讨 AUC 分析的新参数以及如何保持符合 ICH 指导方针。了解如何为您的 AAV 程序弥合从传统方法到高质量 AUC 平台的差距。

立即观看

聚合与分类

一种需要完成的生物物理检定是聚合与分类。蛋白质聚合物定义为任何自相关的蛋白质种类,可根据以下五个特征进行分类:大小、可逆性/解离、构象、化学修饰和形态。以下是我们的一些蛋白质聚合物分析方法:

  • 多角度激光散射尺寸排阻色谱 (SEC-MALLS)
  • 分析超速离心 (AUC)
  • 动态光散射 (DLS)
  • 通过 SDS PAGE 和 CE-SDS 进行电泳

二级/三级构象

  • 圆二色性 (CD) 分光偏光法
  • 傅里叶变换红外光谱 (FT-IR)
  • 本征色氨酸荧光 (ITF) 光谱
  • 外部荧光 ANS 染料结合
  • 通过肽图 LC-MS/MS 进行二硫键映射分析

热稳定性/转变

  • CD 热变性研究
  • 差示扫描量热法 (DSC)
  • 本征色氨酸荧光 (ITF) 光谱
  • 外部荧光 ANS 染料结合

蛋白质结合动力学

  • 通过 biacore 的表面等离子体共振 (SPR)
  • 荧光偏振各向异性 (FPA)

 

关于生物物理检定的常见问题 (FAQ)

  • 在 AAV 样本上进行 AUC 的样本要求是什么?

    对于 AAV 样本的常规 AUC 分析,我们通常的要求是约 0.200 mL,浓度约为 1e13 vg/mL。在 1e13 vg/mL 的情况下,一次验证最多可消耗 5 mL 或更多。虽然 AUC 样本要求不小,但我们目前正在研究减少它们的方法。

  • 在 AUC 分析中如何控制错位?

    我们有许多确保对齐的机制,包括常见的方法:使用细胞和转子上的标记进行目视对齐以及使用对齐工具。我们正在试验一种利用图像分析的定量对齐方法。

  • AUC 用于临床批放行和稳定性的一致性如何?

    AUC 在 rAAV 产品的批放行中变得越来越有用。很难准确说出现在有多少申请包括 AUC,但我们相信这会增加,并将包含在未来的 FDA 指导文件中。

  • 当样本异质时,是否有可能验证 AAV 空/满的 AUC 方法?

    异质样本可能会带来许多问题。特别是,如果主要物种,即“完整”衣壳的丰度较低,或与部分包装变体等杂质的丰度水平相当。如果样本非常异质,建议在对非理想产品批次进行非常深入的研究之前,先了解净化策略。

  • 是否优化 20,000 rpm 以获得更好的 AAV 颗粒检定分离?

    15,000 - 20,000 rpm 范围内的离心速度是 AAV 样本的空/满分辨率最常见且可能是最佳的,尽管有时可能会使用低至 12,000 rpm 的速度。如果速度太慢,则扩散导致的轮廓加宽会导致分辨率变差,而更快的速度可能会使较大的物种过快沉积,从而导致它们在拟合中代表性不足。

Protein Higher-Order Structural Characterization Methods

When developing biologics, more specifically therapeutic protein products, unwanted immune responses can not only be harmful to patients, but also inhibit the efficacy of a product. Maintaining correct higher-order structure (HOS) is critical to ensuring proper functionality, activity, and stability of a biopharmaceutical product. A well-developed panel of methods for HOS characterization is an essential component of a complete product characterization program. All of our biophysical characterization assays can be qualified and validated for use in your product’s routine lot release or stability studies.

  • Analytical Ultracentrifugation (AUC)

    Analytical ultracentrifugation (AUC) separates protein species directly in solution, without the use of a stationary phase such as in size-exclusion chromatography (SEC). The sedimentation rate of the molecule(s) is induced by the centrifugal force, and is monitored continuously by UV absorbance, fluorescence, or interferometry to produce a size distribution profile of the species present within the test sample. Sedimentation velocity analytical ultracentrifugation (SV-AUC) generates sedimentation coefficient values and reports the relative percentages of monomer, multimer, and aggregate species. Information on molecular weight (MW) and hydrodynamic shape are also obtained.

  • Differential Scanning Calorimetry (DSC)

    Differential scanning calorimetry (DSC) is conducted by heating the molecule at a constant rate and the detectable changes in heat capacity associated with thermal denaturation are recorded. A single DSC experiment can determine the transition midpoint, Tm, and the enthalpy (ΔH) and heat capacity change (ΔCp) associated with unfolding. DSC is a very useful biophysical characterization technique for comparing lots of the same product to ensure lot-to-lot consistency, comparability of product upon manufacturing changes, and to establish biosimilarity.

  • Circular Dichroism (CD)

    Circular dichroism (CD) measures differences in the absorption of circularly polarized light arising from structural asymmetry. Far UV scan, 195-250 nm, is dependent on peptide bond alignment/positioning. Ellipticity data in the far UV is de-convoluted to estimate secondary structures such as alpha-helix, beta-sheet, or random coil. Near UV scan, 250-350 nm, measures absorbance of the chromophores of aromatic residues and disulfide bonds. The CD signal within this spectral range provides a fingerprint of the overall tertiary structure of the protein.

  • Dynamic Light Scattering (DLS)

    Dynamic light scattering (DLS) provides information on the hydrodynamic size and size distribution of particle emulsions and molecules dispersed or dissolved in a liquid. Population size information is expressed as a distribution curve. Dynamic light scattering allows for the measurement of a protein’s diffusion coefficient, along with the hydrodynamic size, and an estimation of molecular weight.

  • Intrinsic Tryptophan Fluorescence (ITF)

    Intrinsic tryptophan fluorescence (ITF) assesses the conformational state of a protein. The intrinsic fluorescence of a folded protein is due primarily to tryptophan residue emission, with some small contributions from tyrosine and phenylalanine residue. Tryptophan has a wavelength of maximum absorption of 280 nm and an emission peak that is solvatochromic, ranging from 300 to 350 nm depending on the polarity of the local environment. Hence, ITF is used as a diagnostic for structural characterization of a protein.

  • Fluorescence Polarization Anisotropy (FPA)

    Fluorescence polarization anisotropy (FPA) determines binding constants from the interaction of relatively small fluorescently emitting ligands with larger receptor molecules. This biophysical characterization technique is based on the use of polarized light to excite a fluorescent molecule, which in turn will emit polarized light. However, the degree of polarization and thus anisotropy of the emitted light is directly dependent on the rotational diffusion of the fluorescent molecule. The measurement of anisotropy, therefore, can be used to generate binding curves upon varying the concentration of ligand with respect to its receptor. Affinity constants can then be calculated from the respective binding curves.

  • Surface Plasmon Resonance (SPR)

    Surface plasmon resonance (SPR) protein binding studies commonly use biacore instrumentation and take on various configurations and formats, including both Protein:Protein and Protein:Drug binding studies. Rank-order screening methods for lead selection as well as optimization of running conditions to determine Kon, Koff, and KD values for IND/CMC programs can be developed as part of the biophysical characterization of the product.

  • Apolar Fluorescent Dye 8-Anilinonaphthalene-1-Sulfonic Acid (ANS) Method

    The apolar fluorescent dye 8-Anilinonaphthalene-1-sulfonic acid (ANS) method evaluates the surface hydrophobicity of a protein in its native state. This method is a relatively rapid, non-destructive, and simple means of quantitatively assessing the apolar or hydrophobic nature of a protein. The number and relative size of hydrophobic sites on a protein’s surface may be influenced by conditions of pH, temperature, and ionic strength. As the molecule unfolds, more hydrophobic regions are exposed. Thus, this method is very sensitive to the conformational state of the protein.

  • Size-Exclusion Chromatography with Multi-Angle Laser Light Scattering (SEC-MALLS)

    Size-exclusion chromatography with multi-angle laser light scattering (SEC-MALLS) detection is used to separate proteins based on size and to determine the molar mass of the separated proteins. The angular dependence for large species (>200 kDa) may also be used to estimate size and shape factors, such as the protein radius of gyration.

  • Fourier Transform Infrared (FT-IR) Spectroscopy

    Fourier transform infrared (FT-IR) spectroscopy is a well-established experimental technique for the analysis of secondary structure of polypeptides and protein. Analysis of polypeptide and proteins by FT-IR yields a series of characteristic IR absorption bands. Amide I and II bands are the two most significant vibrational bands of the protein backbone. Furthermore, the more sensitive of the two amide bands is the amide I band (1700−1600 cm−1), which corresponds to the C=O stretch vibrations of the peptide linkages. The frequencies of the amide I band components are well correlated with the secondary structural characteristics of proteins.

Digital rendering of biologic

Analytical Ultracentrifugation for Characterization of AAV Gene Delivery Vectors

View this webinar for a discussion on the new parameters of AUC analysis and how to maintain conformation to ICH guidelines. Learn how to bridge the gap from traditional methods to a high-quality AUC platform for your AAV program.

Watch Now

Aggregation & Sizing

One type of biophysical characterization that should be completed is aggregation and sizing. Protein aggregates are defined as any self-associated protein species and can be classified based on five characteristics: size, reversibility/dissociation, conformation, chemical modification, and morphology. Here are some of our methods of protein aggregation analysis:

  • Size-exclusion chromatography with multi angle laser light scattering (SEC-MALLS)
  • Analytical ultracentrifugation (AUC)
  • Dynamic light scattering (DLS)
  • Electrophoresis via SDS PAGE and CE-SDS

Secondary/Tertiary Conformation

  • Circular dichroism (CD) spectropolarimetry
  • Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FT-IR)
  • Intrinsic tryptophan fluorescence (ITF) spectroscopy
  • Extrinsic fluorescence ANS dye binding
  • Disulfide linkage mapping via peptide mapping LC-MS/MS

Thermal Stability/Transitions

  • CD thermal denaturation study
  • Differential scanning calorimetry (DSC)
  • Intrinsic tryptophan fluorescence (ITF) spectroscopy
  • Extrinsic fluorescence ANS dye binding

Protein Binding Kinetics

  • Surface plasmon resonance (SPR) via biacore
  • Fluorescence polarization anisotropy (FPA)

 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) About Biophysical Characterization

  • What are the sample requirements for doing AUC on AAV samples?

    For routine AUC analysis of an AAV sample we would usually require about 0.200 mL at around 1e13 vg/mL. A validation can consume up to 5 mL or more at 1e13 vg/mL. Although AUC sample requirements are not small, we are currently working on methods to reduce them.

  • In AUC assays, how do you control for misalignment?

    We have a number of mechanisms to ensure alignment including the common ways: visual alignment with marks on the cell and rotor and use of an alignment tool. We are experimenting with a quantitative method of alignment that makes use of image analysis.

  • How consistently is AUC used in clinical lot release and stability?

    AUC is becoming more and more useful in lot release for rAAV products. It is difficult to say precisely how many filings are now including AUC, but we believe this will be on the increase, and will be included in future FDA guidance documents.

  • Is it possible to validate an AUC method for AAV empty/full when the sample is heterogeneous?

    A sample that is heterogeneous can present a number of problems. In particular, if the main species i.e. the "full" capsid is low in abundance, or on-par with the abundance levels of impurities like partially packaged variants. If a sample is very heterogeneous, a recommendation would be to explore purification strategies prior to advancing very far with a non-ideal product batch.

  • Is 20,000 rpm optimized to have the better separation for AAV particle characterization?

    Centrifugal velocities in the range 15,000 - 20,000 rpm are the most common and probably optimal for empty/full resolution of AAV samples, although as low as 12,000 rpm may be used at times. If the speed is too slow then broadening of the profiles from diffusion can lead to poor resolution, while faster speeds can risk sedimenting larger species too fast which can cause them to be under-represented in fitting.