病毒灭活验证

当生产涉及动物或人类组织时,所有生物制品都存在病毒污染的风险。验证病毒灭活过程对于确定生物产品的安全性至关重要,尤其是在源材料很可能被污染的情况下。在许多情况下,污染是由未知或怀疑存在的病原体引起的,因此需要进行彻底的评估和病毒检测程序。

FDA 在含有动物源材料的医疗设备(2019 年 3 月)中记录的最新指导方针提出了病毒和 TSE 清除研究的要求。病毒灭活数据通常通过比较未加工源材料中的病毒数量与生产和灭菌过程中提供的病毒灭活数量来确定。正如 FDA 指导方针中所建议的,应进行审查以估计未加工源材料中的病毒量并优化病毒灭活研究的设计。

这些类型的研究通常使用特定生产和适当模型病毒灭菌步骤的缩小版本进行。在这些类型的研究中使用的模型病毒应反映可能存在于源动物组织中的实际病毒污染物(例如,基于 DNA 和基于 RNA 的、有包膜和无包膜病毒)。

20 多年来,我们通过风险评估、规划和执行此类病毒灭活研究,为领先客户的医疗设备进行病毒和 TSE 清除研究。我们帮助客户准备与监管机构讨论的研究概念并确保在研究执行之前被接受。

医疗设备的病毒清除

在病毒清除研究中,病毒被掺入所研究的缩减工艺步骤的起始材料中,并在工艺开始、过程中和结束时收集样本。使用基于细胞的感染性测定法对样本的病毒含量进行定量分析。通常,起始材料和样本是液体。

加入溶液(起始材料)可确保病毒的均匀分布,并且液体样本可以在无细胞毒性和无干扰稀释度下与细胞共培养。细胞毒性试验和干扰试验是强制性的预试验,以确保病毒检测系统在样本条件下的有效性。根据所分析的工艺步骤,回收测定和淬灭测定也可以是强制性的。

对医疗设备进行病毒清除研究有两个具体问题:

  1. 如何添加固体材料(例如组织、粉末、固体颗粒悬浮液)以模拟潜在的污染条件?
  2. 如何在处理期间或之后从固体材料中收集样本?

加标过程应确保病毒在起始材料上均匀分布。您应确保病毒以最能反映源材料潜在和最坏情况污染的方式渗透固体材料。

在基于细胞的分析中,只能分析液体;因此,处理后残留在固体材料上的任何残留病毒都必须从材料中定量提取到提取液中。由于处理前后的材料可能不同(例如,骨材料的脱矿质),因此处理前后的提取过程也可能不同。

这两个具体挑战需要针对特定项目的解决方案,应首先在可行性研究中加以解决。这样做是为了确保主要研究顺利进行,没有任何意外发现和偏差,并会被监管机构接受。


科学家在进行病毒灭活研究时查看电脑屏幕。

您需要医疗设备检测支持吗?

我们的医疗设备专家团队随时准备提供支持,帮助您将最佳的产品带给患者。

开始使用


医疗设备病毒清除研究的建立

我们位于宾夕法尼亚州韦恩德国科隆的站点可以进行医疗设备的病毒清除研究/病毒检测。

我们能为您做什么?

 

关于医疗器械病毒灭活研究的常见问题 (FAQ)

Validation of Viral Inactivation

The risk of viral contamination is common to all biologics when production involves either animal or human materials. Validating the process of viral inactivation is essential to establish the safety of biological products, especially when there is a high potential for source material to be contaminated. In many instances the contamination has occurred with agents whose presence was not known or suspected, so a thorough evaluation and viral testing procedure is necessary.

The FDA’s latest guidance documented in Medical Devices Containing Materials Derived from Animal Sources (March 2019) provide requirements for viral and TSE clearance studies. Viral inactivation data is usually determined by comparing an estimate of the amount of virus in the unprocessed source material with the amount of virus inactivation provided by manufacturing and sterilization processes. As suggested in the FDA guidance, a review should be performed to estimate the amount of virus in the unprocessed source material and to optimize the design of the viral inactivation study.

These types of studies are generally performed using a scaled-down version of specific production and sterilization steps with appropriate model viruses. The model viruses used in these types of studies should reflect the actual viral contaminants that may be present in the source animal tissue (e.g., DNA-based and RNA-based, enveloped and non-enveloped viruses).

For over 20 years, we’ve conducted viral and TSE clearance studies for medical devices leading clients through the risk assessment, planning, and execution of such viral inactivation studies. We support clients by preparing study concepts that will be discussed with regulatory agencies and ensuring acceptance prior to a study’s execution.

Viral Clearance for Medical Devices

In viral clearance studies, the virus is spiked into the starting material of the downscaled process step under investigation and samples are collected at the beginning, during, and end of the process. The samples are analyzed quantitatively for viral content using cell-based infectivity assays. Typically, the starting material and the samples are liquids.

Spiking into a solution (start material) ensures homogenous distribution of the virus, and liquid samples can be co-cultivated with cells under non-cytotoxic and non-interfering dilutions. Cytotoxicity assays and interference assays are mandatory pre-tests to ensure the validity of virus test systems under sample conditions. Recovery assays and/or quench assays could be compulsory as well depending on the process step analyzed.

There are two questions specific to conducting viral clearance studies for medical devices:

  1. How can a solid material (e.g., tissue, powder, suspension of solid particles) be spiked to mimic potential contamination conditions?
  2. How can a sample be collected from solid material during or after treatment?

The spiking process should ensure homogenous distribution of the virus on the starting material. You should be sure the virus penetrates solid material in a way which best reflects a potential and worst-case contamination of the source material.

In cell-based assays, only liquids can be analyzed; therefore, any residual virus left on solid material after treatment must be quantitatively extracted from the material into an extraction solution. As the materials can be different before and after treatment (e.g., de-mineralization of bone material), the extraction process before and after treatment can also be different.

These two specific challenges require project-specific solutions, which should first be addressed in a feasibility study. This is done to ensure the main study goes smoothly without any unexpected findings and deviations and will be accepted by regulatory agencies.


Scientists looking at a computer screen during viral inactivation studies.

Need Support for Your Medical Device Testing?

Our team of medical device experts are ready and willing to offer their support to get the best possible version of your product into the hands of patients.

Get Started


Setup of Viral Clearance Study for Medical Devices

  • Establish Downscale Model of the Process Steps to be Analyzed
    • This is frequently done by the researcher, but can be delegated to our team for assistance
  • Set Up Experimental Design (non-GLP/GMP) for Feasibility Study
    • Establish the spiking process
    • Identify the best virus extraction process from processed material
    • Incorporate recovery assays to ensure a minimal dynamic range of reduction can be demonstrated (≥ 4 log10)
    • Add potential quench assays
    • Add cytotoxicity and interference assays
    • Consider inactivation potential if unclear (optional)
  • Run Quality-Assured Main Study (GLP/GMP)
    • Conducting a second run of some pre-tests under quality-assured conditions (cytotoxicity, interference, and recovery assays at a minimum)
    • Evaluate spiking, process performance, and sampling as specified in the feasibility study (typically performed in duplicate runs)

Our sites in Wayne, PA and Cologne, Germany can accommodate viral clearance studies / viral testing for medical devices.

What Can We Do for You?

 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Medical Device Viral Inactivation Studies