如何选择正确的快速微生物学方法

微生物分析的快速方法可使您的标准测定时间和后续调查减少数天,同时仍提供控制生产过程所需的关键信息。确定哪种方法最适合您的实验室可能比较复杂,但我们制备了一些材料,来帮助您找到满足所需的 最合适的 RMM 解决方案。

请求报价

制药或个人护理行业质量控制微生物实验室中细菌、酵母和霉菌检测的快速微生物分析方法的验证和实施

快速微生物学方法 (RMM) 的使用正在制药、生物技术、个人护理用品和化妆品生产行业迅速获得青睐。结合本 BioPhorum 以及我们在各行各业协助实验室的经验,我们编撰了此分步指南和相关资源,为您提供帮助。

制备微生物样本的实验室技术人员

1.定义您的需求

从确定您的挑战开始。您是否试图保护数据的完整性?您获得它的速度怎么样?微生物质量控制部门应确定对其工作流程和业务最重要的关键驱动因素和要求。样本兼容性、供应商专业知识和易于实施等要求可能因组织而异,甚至在组织内也可能因工作点而异。
实验室技术人员使用 Celsis 快速微生物检测仪器检测无菌和非无菌产品,包括细胞疗法、ATMP 和其他保质期短的产品

2.考虑其他 RMM 应用

第二步是确定许多可用的快速微生物学方法,并确定哪些与您的目标和生产工艺兼容。人们一度普遍认为,大多数快速检测系统仅用于一个目的,或仅与某些样本类型兼容,但现在情况已有所不同。例如,Celsis® ATP 生物发光可用于无菌和非无菌产品测试。与 Celsis Adapt™ 浓缩器系统配合使用时,可用于测试基于细胞的样本、细胞疗法和短保质期产品。
在生物安全柜中工作的质量控制微生物学家,负责微生物学方法的验证

3.比较快速检测技术

接下来,通过比较各自的优势和劣势,确定哪种 RMM 产品最符合您的目标。目前的快速微生物技术仪器可以是定性或定量的,并可根据其采用的检测技术类型进一步分类。
  • 定量方法检测

    基于流式细胞术的检测 

    基于流式细胞术的检测通常用于细胞测量。流式细胞术是通过将细胞聚焦到鞘液中的窄流(或“单个文件”)中进行的。光电倍增管检测光散射和荧光,从而提供有关细胞大小和形态的信息。固相流式细胞术与此相似,只是样本先通过膜过滤。残留在过滤器上的微生物用荧光团标记,然后激光扫描荧光团以检测微生物和荧光颗粒。 

    荧光辅助计数

    荧光辅助计数是一种基于成像的技术,通过目视计数膜上的荧光标记菌落来执行。与固相细胞术相似,过滤器上捕获的微生物用非荧光基质直接标记,该基质被活微生物裂解并进入细胞。只有活细胞才会发出荧光,但这些技术仍需用户进行计数。这些系统通常能够检测由多个细胞或集落形成单位组成的小菌落,并且可能难以检测单个细胞。

    自动菌落计数器:自体荧光辅助计数

    基于自体荧光的菌落计数器是基于成像的技术,它利用当微生物菌落暴露于特定波长的光时天然产生的荧光。在这些系统中,电镀样本暴露于这种高功率光的窄波长下,其瞬时自发荧光被电荷耦合器件 (CCD) 捕获作为数据。根据这些数据渲染图像。手动检查所得到的图像,以确定污染是否以发光菌落形式存在,或者采用算法通过信噪比从背景中识别菌落。这些仪器的一个缺点是,重复暴露在这种高功率光下会在被成像的样本中产生热量,这可能会随着时间的推移影响复原。

    自动菌落计数/非荧光辅助计数 

    非荧光辅助计数或自动菌落计数是基于图像的计数,不使用荧光染料或染色剂。一些技术利用基于算法的图像分析来预测菌落;而另一些还需要手动枚举。由于这些仪器不利用任何荧光在菌落生长的极早期阶段辨别菌落,或从背景辨别菌落,因此成像系统可能难以根据小菌落辨别单个细胞。

  • 定性方法检测

    ATP 生物发光 

    ATP 生物发光利用在三磷酸腺苷 (ATP) 存在的条件下发生的自然反应,此时荧光素酶将荧光素转化为氧化荧光素。由于 ATP 存在于所有活的细菌、真菌和酵母细胞中,并且此反应仅在 ATP 存在时发生,因此可以检测样本中的微生物污染。通过这种反应产生的光由 Celsis 光度计自动检测。这种反应也是广为人知的萤火虫发光的反应。 

    CO2 监测 

    CO2 监测是对密闭瓶内微生物生长指标 CO2 水平升高的定性测量。密闭瓶内 CO2 水平的改变将引起瓶的 pH 值发生变化,从而改变含有样本的瓶上的指示剂的颜色。仪器测量该指示剂的变化(导致 pH 值降低),以报告是否存在污染。 

    基于 PCR 的选择性检测 

    在基于 PCR 的选择性检测中,通过靶向细菌或真菌/酵母基因组的特定保守区域来检测细菌。使用 PCR 扩增细菌的 16S rRNA 编码区和真菌/酵母的 18 sRNA 编码区。然后检测扩增的片段以指示污染的存在。这种技术通常专门用于支原体,因为它们不能通过细菌、酵母和霉菌的传统方法回收。该测定可能非常灵敏;然而,它需要大量的手动制备,实验方案参数非常严格。 

制备微生物样本的实验室技术员

4.开发 RMM 业务案例

向组织内的关键决策者介绍您的研究结果可能相当 棘手。我们的财务影响评估工具可以帮助您构建案例,概述您的选择理由以及相关风险、成本和投资回报率。 本电子书基于一位行业专家 30 多年经验提供的概念路线图、指导和见解,为 RMM 展示了商业案例。最后,本 网络研讨会概述了使用 Celsis® 方法的一些优势,如缩短产品保留时间和提高生产效率。
实验室技术人员将样本移液至试管中,以进行快速微生物学分析

5.规划您的 RMM 验证策略

微生物学方法在生产过程中的快速实施方式将因行业和地点而异。收集成功实施所选技术所需的信息, 并与监管机构建立联系(如有可能)。这样便于更平滑地过渡到您的测试工作。为了使快速微生物学方法获得常规测试批准,必须首先对其进行验证。该过程曾经漫长而复杂,现在通过两个验证支持包(Celsis® CompleteCelsis® Advantage)得到了简化。
实验室技术人员致力于将快速微生物学方法应用到其全球流程中 

6.实施和全球部署

最后一步是在全球范围内将 RMM 实践推广到您组织内的所有生产设施。这看似是一项艰巨的任务,但我们已看到无菌和非无菌市场中的行业领导者成功实施了该计划。一旦您做出决定,我们的团队将 乐意帮助您确定实施针对您的产品、方法和实验室的快速微生物学方法的最佳途径。

一旦您做出决定,我们的团队将很乐意帮助您确定实施针对您的产品、方法和实验室的快速微生物学方法的最佳途径。

开始使用

How To Select the Right Rapid Microbial Method

Rapid methods of microbial analysis can eliminate days from your standard assay time and follow-up investigations while still delivering the critical information needed to maintain control of your production process. Determining which method is best for your lab can be complex, but we've prepared some materials to help guide you toward the most appropriate RMM solution for your needs.

Request a Quote

Validation and Implementation of a rapid microbiological method of analysis for the detection of bacteria, yeasts, and molds in a pharmaceutical or personal care industry quality control microbiology laboratory

The use of rapid microbiological methods (RMMs) is quickly gaining favor in the pharmaceutical, biotech, personal care, and cosmetic manufacturing industries. Combining this BioPhorum article and our experience assisting labs in a wide variety of industries, we have compiled this step-by-step guide and related resources to help you.

lab technician preparing a microbial sample

1. Define Your Needs

Start by identifying your challenges. Are you trying to protect the integrity of your data? What about the speed at which you obtain it? Microbiology quality control departments should identify the key drivers and requirements that are most important to their workflow and business. Requirements such as sample compatibility, vendor expertise, and ease of implementation can vary from organization to organization, and even within organizations, from site to site.
Lab technician using Celsis rapid microbial detection instruments for sterile and non-sterile products, including cell therapies, ATMPs, and other short shelf-life products

2. Consider Other RMM Applications

The second step is to identify the many available rapid microbiological methods and determine which are compatible with your goals and manufacturing processes. It was once widely believed that most rapid detection systems were solely used for a single purpose or were only compatible with certain sample types, but that is no longer the case. Celsis® ATP bioluminescence, for example, can be used on both sterile and non-sterile product testing. When paired with the Celsis Adapt™ Concentrator System, it can be used for testing cell-based samples, cellular therapies, and short shelf-life products.
Quality control microbiologist working in biological safety cabinet for validation of microbiological methods

3. Compare Rapid Detection Technologies

Next, determine which RMM products best align with your goals by comparing their strengths and weaknesses. Current rapid microbiology technology instruments can be either qualitative or quantitative and can further be categorized by the type of detection technology they employ.
  • Quantitative Method Detection

    Cytometry-Based Detection 

    Flow Cytometry-based detection is typically used for the measurement of cells. Flow cytometry is conducted by focusing cells into a narrow stream, or “single file”, in a sheath fluid. Photomultipliers detect light scattering and fluorescence, which gives information about the cell’s size and morphology. Solid phase cytometry is similar, except the sample is first filtered through a membrane. Microbes that remain on the filter are labeled with a fluophore, which are then scanned by the laser to detect microorganisms but also fluorescent particles. 

    Fluorescence Assisted Enumeration

    Fluorescence- assisted enumeration is an imaging-based technology performed through visual counting of fluorescently labeled colonies on a membrane. Similar to solid phase cytometry, microorganisms captured on a filter are directly labeled with a non-fluorescent substrate which is cleaved by living microorganisms and taken into the cell. Only living cells will fluoresce, but these technologies still require a user to perform enumeration. These systems are routinely able to detect microcolonies, comprised of multiple cells or colony forming units, and may have difficulty detecting individual cells.

    Automated Colony Counters: Autofluorescence Assisted enumeration

    Autofluorescence based colony counters are imaging-based technologies that utilize naturally occurring fluorescence when colonies of microorganisms are exposed to light of a specific wavelength. In these systems, plated samples are exposed to a narrow wavelength of this high powered light, their momentary autofluorescence is captured by a charged couple device (CCD) as data. An image is rendered from this data. The resulting images are either manually reviewed to determine if contamination is present in the form of glowing colonies, or an algorithm is employed to identify colonies from the background via signal to noise ratios. One drawback to these instruments is that the repeated exposure to this high powered light generates heat in the sample being imaged, which may impact recovery over time.

    Automated colony counter/ non-fluorescence assisted enumeration 

    Non-fluorescence assisted enumeration, or automated colony-counting is image-based enumeration which does not utilize fluorescent dyes or stains. Some technologies utilize algorithm-based image analysis to predict colonies; while others also require manual enumeration. Since these instruments do not utilize any fluorescence to discern colonies at very early stages in their growth, or to discern them from the background, it can be difficult for the imaging system to discern individual cells against microcolonies.

  • Qualitative Method Detection

    ATP-Bioluminescence 

    ATP bioluminescence utilizes a naturally occurring reaction which occurs in the presence of adenosine triphosphate (ATP), when the luciferase enzyme converts luciferin into oxyluciferin. As ATP is present in all living bacterial, fungal, and yeast cells, and that this reaction only occurs when ATP is present, allows for the detection of microbiological contamination in a sample. The light produced via this reaction is automatically detected by Celsis luminometers. This reaction is also the same reaction which gives fireflies their famous glow. 

    CO2 Monitoring 

    CO2 Monitoring is the qualitative measurement of the increasing of CO2 levels as an indicator of microbial growth inside a closed vial. Changing CO2 levels inside the closed vial will initiate a change in the pH of the vial, which changes the color of an indicator on the vial containing the sample. An instrument measures the change in this indicator, resulting in a decrease in pH levels, to report whether a contamination is present.  

    PCR-based Selective Detection 

    In PCR-based Selective Detection, bacterial are detected by targeting specific conserved regions of the bacterial or fungi/yeast genomes. The 16S rRNA coding region for bacteria and 18s sRNA coding region for fungi/yeasts are amplified using PCR. The amplified fragments are then detected to indicate the presence of a contamination. This technology is often employed specifically for mycoplasma, as these are not recovered through traditional methods for bacteria, yeasts, and molds. This assay can be very sensitive; however, it requires a considerable amount of manual preparation with very tight experimental protocol parameters. 

lab technician preparing microbial samples

4. Develop an RMM Business Case

Presenting your findings to key decision makers within your organization can be tricky. Our Financial Impact Assessment tool can help you build your case by outlining the rationale behind your selection and the associated risks, costs, and ROI. This ebook lays out the business case for RMMs with a conceptual road map, guidance, and insights obtained by an industry expert over 30 years. Finally, this webinar outlines some of the benefits using Celsis® methods, such as shorter product hold times and improved production efficiency.
lab technician pipetting sample into cuvettes for rapid microbiology

5. Plan Your RMM Validation Strategy

How rapid microbial methods are implemented into manufacturing procedures will vary by industry and site. Gather the information you need to successfully execute your chosen technology and establish contact with regulatory agencies, if possible. This will allow for a smoother transition to your testing efforts. In order for rapid microbiological methods to be approved for routine testing, they must first be validated. What was once a lengthy and complicated process is now simplified with our two validation support packages, Celsis® Complete and Celsis® Advantage.
Lab technicians working to implement a rapid microbial method into their global processes 

6. Implementation and Global Deployment

The final step is to engage the RMM practice globally to all production facilities within your organization. Although this may seem like a daunting task, we’ve seen successful implementation from industry leaders in both the sterile and non-sterile markets. Once you come to a decision, our team will be happy to help you determine the best path toward implementing a rapid microbiological method specific to your product, method, and laboratory.

Once you come to a decision, our team is happy to help you determine the best path forward to implementing a rapid microbiological method specific to your product, method, and laboratory.

Let's get started