快速细胞培养污染检测

Celsis Adapt™ 细胞应用程序专为含有细胞的样本设计,例如来自细胞培养生产的过程质量控制样本和基于细胞的治疗的快速无菌测试。Celsis Adapt™ 将得出结果的时间缩短到少于 7 天,而较长药典测试需要 14 天。 

缩短细胞培养质量控制样本的得出结果时间

从通过发酵的细胞培养上游处理步骤,到下游纯化和填充/完成,标准生物生产过程中有许多步骤需要质量控制 (QC) 样本测试。过程内控制样本中的许多上游样本含有细胞,除了常用的 14 天无菌测试外,如果使用传统的基于生长的检查,还需要额外的亚培养步骤。这些漫长的潜伏期给生产带来了不必要的运营挑战,而生产仍处于风险之中。 

克服挑战

发生污染事件时,不仅总批次产量和生产率会受到影响,如果未尽快检测到污染,还会在修复污染的时间、资金和材料方面遭受额外损失。如果实施能够检测细胞培养污染的快速微生物学方法,就可以大幅降低这些无法预见的成本。遗憾的是,由于细胞的存在,质量控制微生物实验室遇到了实施基于生长的快速微生物学方法的挑战,原因在于背景干扰。 

下载 Celsis Adapt™ 产品表

七天内含细胞样本的结果

Celsis Adapt™ 系统可去除生产细胞和碎屑,仅留下潜在的细菌、真菌和霉菌污染物,从而可对 Celsis® 光度计进行快速分析。对于含有细胞的样本,只需 7 天便可获得结果,在许多情况下可将获得结果的时间缩短 50% 以上。当考虑 Celsis ATP 生物发光的其他应用(包括 6 天内产品发布的快速无菌测试)时,各公司现在可以在整个药物生产过程中使用单一快速微生物学方法。

我们的细胞样本快速微生物检测系统

用于快速微生物检测的 Celsis Advance II 仪

Celsis Adapt™ 是 Celsis® 快速检测系统的附属仪器,旨在制备和浓缩含有干扰背景和 ATP 生物发光检测信号的成分的样本,从而扩大 Celsis® 光度计的应用范围。

 

celsis advance 系统

Charles River 建议将 Celsis Adapt™ 样本浓缩器与 Celsis Advance II™ 光度计结合使用,以快速测试细胞培养样本和含有质量控制样本的细胞。该仪器每小时可运行 120 次测定,最适合高通量药物生物处理。
 

 

用于快速微生物检测的 Celsis Accel 系统

Celsis Adapt™ 样本浓缩器也与较小的 Celsis Accel® 光度计兼容。该仪器的吞吐率为每小时 30 次测试,适用于中小型生物制药生产商控制污染或在研究、商业化和细胞培养过程开发期间优化质量测试。 
 

 

Celsis Adapt™ 产品详情

  • 产品规格
    尺寸(高度×宽度×深度): 13 英寸×11 英寸×7 英寸/33 厘米×27.9 厘米×17.8 厘米
    重量: 8 磅 /3.6 千克
    电气要求: 电源:100-240 VAC, 50/60 Hz, 1.5 A 
    运行条件:12VAC – 5A, 60W
     
    最大样本量: 10 mL
    软件兼容性: 使用板载固件操作
    预编制方案
    Celsis® 仪器兼容性: 

    Celsis Advance II™
    Celsis Accel® 

    可用的 Celsis® 试剂套件:  Celsis Adapt™ Cell 100 试剂套件
     

     

  • 产品代码
    产品描述 产品代码

    Celsis Adapt™ 样本浓缩器 
    Celsis Adapt™ 仪器
    板载固件
    带有 B、C 和 G 类区域适配器的电源 
    洗涤液适配器
    管线和卡夹

    AD9000

    Celsis Adapt™ Cell 100 试剂套件
    Celsis Adapt™ Cell 试剂
    Celsis Adapt™ 浓缩液,无菌×3 罐
    Celsis Adapt™ 吸头, 0.2µm,无菌 ×40 吸头
    Celsis Adapt™ 维护吸头×1 吸头

    AD1420

    Celsis Advance II™ 仪器
    Celsis® Advance II.im 软件
    USB 串行电缆
    电源
    比色皿架
    试剂架

    7456004

     

  • 特异性测试

    Celsis Adapt™ 方法不影响整个 Celsis® ATP 生物发光的特异性。作为严格开发和方法验证计划的一部分,随后与多家制药公司合作进行了 β 检测,已证明 Celsis Adapt™ 可检测以下常见挑战微生物的存在,但不限于法规指导文档中规定的微生物。

    药典挑战生物体

    行业相关和有害微生物*
    巴西曲霉 洋葱伯克霍尔德菌
    枯草芽孢杆菌 产孢梭菌
    白色念珠菌 痤疮角质细菌
    大肠杆菌 藤黄微球菌
    铜绿假单胞菌 产黄青霉
    金黄色葡萄球菌  
    *Celsis Adapt™ 样本浓缩器产品表中提供了更长的行业相关和有害微生物列表。
  • 细胞系兼容性

    为了提供用于生物制药加工和基于细胞的生产的完整解决方案,对 Celsis Adapt™ 细胞测试系统进行了严格的特异性和方法适用性测试,以测试日益增多的常用细胞系,例如:

    • CEF(鸡胚成纤维细胞)
    • 间充质基质细胞
    • CHO-K1(灰仓鼠,中国仓鼠卵巢)
    • CHO-DG44
    • CHO-BHK21(幼仓鼠肾细胞)
    • HEK-293(人胚胎肾)
    • HeLa(人)
  • 检测极限

    该试验的检测极限仍为 1 CFU,并继续符合 PDA TR 33、USP <1223> 和药典欧洲5.1.6 中所述的验证参数。该样本制备过程仍然保持了 Celsis® ATP 生物发光的非破坏性优势,同时利用了少量原始培养样本。

关于细胞培养样本快速微生物法应用的常见问题

  • 如何测试细胞培养物中的污染?

    细胞培养物样本通常采用生物负荷或微生物限度测试参数,与过程对照样本一样进行测试,采用膜过滤,依赖于 3-7 天的培养时间。含有测试样本的细胞通常包含在过程细胞中,如哺乳动物或 CHO 细胞。

    此处可使用快速微生物学方法,但必须使用裂解法或机械去除法将生物加工细胞与微生物污染细胞区分开来。 

  • 什么是过程控制样本中的细胞培养?

    过程控制样本中的细胞培养物是在细胞培养或发酵生物处理步骤期间采集的质量控制微生物学样本,用于检测含有产生治疗的宿主细胞的样本中是否存在污染。 

  • 如果存在细胞培养物污染,我应该怎么做?

    如果过程中测试发现污染, 并且结果超过您确定的警戒/行动限制,应进行调查。通常,调查包括重新测试和/或补救,如清洁。 

  • 什么是快速细胞培养污染测试?

    通过对细胞培养物或基于细胞的样本使用快速微生物学方法,检测比传统检测方法快几天。如果必须报废批次,可降低总体生产成本,如果生产继续存在风险,可清洁其他下游设备。 此外,在执行后续调查时,可使用 Celsis Adapt™ 等非破坏性快速方法,通过我们的 Accugenix® 微生物鉴定和菌株分型服务进行复检或微生物鉴定。

Rapid Cell Culture Contamination Detection

The Celsis Adapt™ cell application was designed for cell-containing samples, such as in-process quality control samples from cell culture manufacturing and rapid sterility testing of cell-based therapies. The Celsis Adapt™ provides a reduced time-to-result of less than seven days versus the 14 days needed for the longer compendial test. 

Reducing the Time to Result for Cell Culture QC Samples

There are many steps during the standard biomanufacturing process requiring quality control (QC) sample testing, from upstream processing steps in cell culture through fermentation, to downstream purification and fill/finish. Many upstream in-process control samples contain cells, which require additional sub-culturing steps when using traditional growth-based tests on top of the 14-day sterility test commonly employed. These lengthy incubation periods impose unnecessary operational challenges to manufacturing while production continues at risk. 

Overcoming the Challenges

When a contamination event occurs, not only is overall batch yield and productivity impacted, but additional loss of time, money, and materials used to remediate the contamination are incurred if not detected as soon as possible. These unforeseen costs can be reduced greatly when rapid microbiological methods are implemented that can detect cell culture contaminations. Unfortunately, due to the presence of cells, quality control microbiology labs have encountered challenges implementing growth based rapid microbial methods due to background interference. 

Download the Celsis Adapt™ Product Sheet

Results in Seven Days for Samples Containing Cells

The Celsis Adapt™ system removes production cells and debris, leaving only potential bacterial, fungal, and mold contaminants behind, allowing for rapid analysis on Celsis® luminometers. Results can be obtained in only 7 days for cell-containing samples, reducing the time-to-result by more than 50% in many cases. When considering the additional applications for Celsis ATP bioluminescence, including rapid sterility testing for product release in 6 days, companies can now utilize a single rapid microbiological method for the entire pharmaceutical production process.

Our Rapid Microbial Detection Systems for Cell-Based Samples

Celsis Advance II instrument for rapid microbial detection

The Celsis Adapt™ is an accessory instrument for Celsis®rapid detection systems, intended to prepare and concentrate samples containing components that interfere with the background and ATP-bioluminescence detection signal, expanding the application portfolio for Celsis® luminometers.

 

celsis advance system

Charles River recommends combining Celsis Adapt™ sample concentrator with the Celsis Advance II™ luminometer for rapid testing of cell culture samples and cell-containing quality control samples. Capable of running 120 assays per hour, this instrument is best suited for high throughput pharmaceutical bioprocessing.
 

 

Celsis Accel system for rapid microbial detection

The Celsis Adapt™ sample concentrator is also compatible the smaller Celsis Accel® luminometer. With a throughput rate of 30 assays per hour, this instrument is a smart option for contamination control for small to midsize biopharma manufacturers, or for optimizing quality testing during research, commercialization and cell culture process development.  
 

 

Celsis Adapt™ Product Details

  • Product Specifications
    Size (Height x Width x Depth): 13 in x 11 in x 7 in/33 cm x 27.9 cm x 17.8 cm
    Weight: 8 lbs/3.6 kg
    Electrical Requirements: Supply: 100-240 VAC, 50/60 Hz, 1.5 A 
    Operating: 12VAC – 5A, 60W
     
    Maximum Sample Volume: 10 mL
    Software Compatibility: Operated with on-board firmware
    Pre-programmed protocols
    Celsis® Instrument Compatibility: 

    Celsis Advance II™
    Celsis Accel® 

    Celsis® Reagent Kits Available:  Celsis Adapt™ Cell 100 Kit
     

     

  • Product Codes
    Product Description Product Code

    Celsis Adapt™ Sample Concentrator 
    Celsis Adapt™ Instrument
    On-board firmware
    Power supply with Type B, C, and G regional adapters 
    Washing solution adapter
    Tubing line and clip

    AD9000

    Celsis Adapt™ Cell 100 Kit
    Celsis Adapt™ Cell Reagents
    Celsis Adapt™ Concentrating Solution, Sterile x 3 cans
    Celsis Adapt™ Tips,  0.2µm, Sterile x 40 tips
    Celsis Adapt™ Maintenance Tip x 1 tip

    AD1420

    Celsis Advance II™ Instrument
    Celsis® Advance II.im Software
    USB-serial cable
    Power supply
    Cuvette rack
    Reagent rack

    7456004

     

  • Specificity Testing

    The Celsis Adapt™ method does not impact the specificity of the overall Celsis® ATP-bioluminescence. As part of a rigorous development and method validation program followed by beta testing in collaboration with several pharmaceutical companies, the Celsis Adapt™ has been proven to detect the presence of the following common challenge microorganisms, but not limited to those as stated in regulatory guidance documents.

    Compendial challenge organisms

    Industry-relevant and objectionable organisms*
    Aspergillus brasiliensis Burkholderia cepacia
    Bacillus subtilis Clostridium sporogenes
    Candida albicans Cutibacterium acnes
    Escherichia coli Kocuria rhizophila
    Pseudomonas aeruginosa Penicillium chrysogenum
    Staphylococcus aureus  
    *A longer list of industry-relevant and objectionable organisms can be found in the Celsis Adapt™ Sample Concentrator product sheet.
  • Cell Line Compatibility

    In order to provide a complete solution for in biopharma processing and cell-based production, the Celsis Adapt™ Cell Testing system was rigorously tested for specificity and method suitability for a growing list of commonly used cell lines, such as:

    • CEF (chicken embryo fibroblast)
    • Mesenchymal Stromal cells
    • CHO-K1 (Cricetulus griseus, Chinese Hamster ovary)
    • CHO-DG44
    • CHO-BHK21 (Baby Hamster kidney cell)
    • HEK-293 (Human embryonic kidney)
    • HeLa (Human)
  • Limit of Detection

    The limit of detection for the assay remains at 1 CFU and continues to adhere to validation parameters described in PDA TR 33, USP <1223>, and Ph. Eur. 5.1.6. This sample preparation still maintains the non-destructive benefit of Celsis® ATP-bioluminescence, while utilizing a small amount of the original incubated sample.

Frequently Asked Questions about Rapid Microbiological Method Applications for Cell Culture Samples

  • How do you test for contamination in cell culture?

    Cell culture samples are typically tested as in-process controls samples, using bioburden or microbial limits test parameters, relying on incubation times of 3-7 days using membrane filtration. Cell containing test samples commonly contain in-process cells, such as mammalian or CHO cells.

    Rapid microbiological methods can be used here, but bioprocessing cells must be differentiated from microbial contamination cells using a lysis process or by mechanical removal. 

  • What are cell culture in-process control samples?

    Cell culture in-process control samples are quality control microbiology samples taken during the cell culture or fermentation bioprocessing step to detect the presence of contamination in samples containing the therapeutic-generating host cells. 

  • What should I do if there a is cell culture contamination?

    If in-process testing reveals a contamination,  an investigation should be performed if the results exceed your established alert/action limits. Typically, investigations involve retesting and/or a remediation, such as cleaning. 

  • What is rapid cell culture contamination testing?

    By using a rapid microbiological method for cell culture or cell-based samples, detection can occur days faster than the traditional test method, reducing overall production cost if the batch must be scrapped, and cleaning additional downstream equipment if production continued at risk.  Moreover, when performing a follow-up investigation, a non-destructive rapid method, like Celsis Adapt™, allows for a retest or microbial identification through our Accugenix® microbial identification and strain typing services.